Accident statistics gathered by the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) verify that distracted driving is responsible for a large percentage of accidents in Oregon. Texting while driving is dangerous and we all know we shouldn’t do it, but there is still a large number of drivers out there who still do it anyway. In fact, recent surveys reveal Oregon drivers know it is against the law and also know it is dangerous but nevertheless, continue texting while driving.
In the State of Oregon, it is illegal to drive while holding or using an electronic device (e.g. cell phone, tablet, GPS, laptop). A first offense that doesn’t contribute to a crash is a Class B violation with a maximum fine of $1,000. A second offense, or if the first offense contributes to a crash, is Class A violation with a maximum fine of $2,500. A third offense in ten years is a Class B misdemeanor and could result in a maximum fine of $2,500 fine and could be 6 months in jail. Learn more about Oregon’s distracted driving law on the Oregon.gov website.
The next time you are driving and are tempted to text or use a hand held cell phone, resist the urge and avoid a large ticket and the possibility of hurting someone or yourself in an accident caused by distracted driving.